Embrace the Pace Half Marathon

Yesterday was the Nappanee Apple Festival Half-Marathon and 5k. This was my 2nd year of doing this half marathon. This is also where Tina ran her first 5k a year ago. Last year I win the half marathon by a time of 1:20:38. My goal for this years race was to run under 1:20:00 for the half marathon, roughly a 6:06 per mile pace. Weather was cool but a slight wind coming out of the south/southwest.
The start of the race came shortly after 7:30. It is traditionally a smaller race, and this day was no different. I like to do this race for a few reasons.
1. It’s in Nappanee,IN, where I went to high school (NorthWood High School).
2. I have gotten to know the race director some over the past year, good guy. He also supported the Sarah Strong Run back in March.
3. My training plan calls for a half marathon race on this weekend. It’s a perfect fit.

This run is mostly in the country. Most of the course for the half marathon is open to traffic. Honestly, you didn’t have to worry much about car traffic as you did horse and buggy and bike traffic. Also, if you do this race, watch out for road apples (horse poop for those who do not live in Amish country).

The race started as I had planned on, running the first mile with the leaders of the 5k before turning left while the 5k went straight (5k is an out and back course). After we made the first turn,
I was alone for the next 12.1 miles. No one up front to help keep a solid pace. After the first mile, which went north, we headed west for a mile and a half and then south for roughly a half mile. Head wind for these two miles, until making a turn around right after mile 3. After this we headed north and then east until right after mile 7.
First 7 mile splits:
1. 6:09
2. 6:04,
3.6:09
4. 6:01
5.6:06
6. 6:03
7. 6:05
After mile 7, it was back west and then south into the wind for the next 3-4 miles. This is where the wind started taking the energy out of me. It wasn’t a real strong wind but sometimes it doesn’t take much.
Miles 8-13
8. 6:09
9. 6:20
10. 6:28
11. 6:29
12. 6:26
13. 6:22
Finish time: 1:22:04
Average pace: 6:13
First place overall.
There was a cash reward for winning the race. That will go straight into my Boston Marathon Fund.

IMG_0010.JPG

IMG_0011.JPG

IMG_0012.JPG
My wife is proud of herself for getting two pictures of me with both feet off of the ground.

On a side note, my wife Tina is a beast. She ran a PR yesterday of 34:32 in the 5k. Her goal was to get under 35:00 for the first time. She also refused to let a woman beat her that was using the Galloway method. My wife has learned well, never allow someone using the Galloway method to beat you.

Other details of the race: the half marathon runners were give a tech shirt:

IMG_0006.JPG

The 5k received a cotton shirt:

IMG_0007.JPG

For the first time, they did give out finishers medals. Now when you see the finishers medals, it is important to note that the race entry fee I believe was $25. So this was an inexpensive race in which you got a tech shirt.

IMG_0009.JPG

The race was also very well volunteered and had 9 aid stations. All with water, a couple with Poweraid, and one with Bananas. I did hear from someone that a runner or two missed a turn and ran an extra mile. I do believe that no one was at this turn but when I went by, there was a sign. Maybe someone moved the sign? ( it is a possibility)

If you are a runner who needs continual crowd support on your races, this is not the race for you, completely in the country with nothing around but corn, beans, and Amish. I would love to see Nappanee have this race finish along side the Apple Festival parade like the Marshall County Blueberry Festival does, but for whatever reason, they won’t do it. I think they claim that they can’t keep the roads closed that long, but yet, they do a stupid apple cider relay race.

Also the festival does little help in getting the word out about the race. I think it was mentioned on the festival Facebook page one time (about a month before the festival).

Overall, it is smooth and very well run race that enjoy running in.

update on Boston
I was asked a few times at the race yesterday if I had heard about the Boston Marathon. Nothing new to report. Boston will notify all those who are in and those who are by Wednesday of this week. Believe me, you will know when I find out. To my knowledge, no one who registered between Monday and Wednesday of last week has received their acceptance email.

Leave a comment