Boston Marathon Training (Week 1)

“The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare.”
-Juma Ikangaa

Training for the 119th Boston Marathon began on Monday, December 29th. I am using a 16 week training program. This is the same training program that I have used for the last 4 marathons that I have ran. There are other training plans that are geared towards running the Boston Marathon and the demands of the course, but I am have chosen to stick with what got me to Boston. Throughout the next couple months, you might see me compare how my training is going vs. how my training went last winter or last summer. Tina also purchased for me a new training “toy,” the Garmin Forerunner 620. Thank you once again Tina for that surprise. I love you. I will do a review on this new watch in the next week but from week to week I will also post what the Garmin believes I could run a marathon in.

Week 1
Monday
6.16 miles relaxed

Tuesday
Speed workout
10 Minutes warmup
4X4:00 with 1:30 active rest between each interval
10 minute cool down
5.55 miles

Wednesday
Off

Thursday
Frigid 5K race in Warsaw, IN
1.5 mile warm-up
3.1 mile race (18:36) 2nd place overall, 1st in age division
1.5 mile cool down
25 mph winds. 24 degrees, wind chill 5 degrees

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a6a/68935834/files/2015/01/img_0071.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a6a/68935834/files/2015/01/img_0068.jpg

Friday
40 minute fartlick run
6 miles

Saturday
Long run was pushed back to Sunday due to cold temperatures along with a mix of rain and freezing rain

Sunday
12 miles

Total miles: 29.81
VO2 Max: 55
Marathon prediction time: 3:00:04
I didn’t get the new Garmin until Thursday afternoon, so the only runs that contribute to my VO2 and my predicted time were from Friday and Sunday.
The next week should be interesting for training as we get some really cold weather moving in along with possible snow storms.

Leave a comment