Boston Marathon Training (Week 14)

  Just 2 weeks left until my ultimate marathon goal is met.  

This week I came down with a bad chest cold which forced me to start tapering a week earlier than I planed on.  In parentheses, I will put in what I was scheduled to do so you can see the changes that I had to make.  

  

Monday: recovery run. Took this run very 5.38 miles

Tuesday: 10:00 warm up, 2×8:00 intervals with 1:30 active rest inbetween (was supposed to be 4×8:00) 14:00 cool down. Legs were dead, could not get the heart rate up at all.  5.22 miles

Wednesday: off

Thursday: off

Friday: 2 mile warm up, Green Day Frolic 5k 

Saturday: 8 miles (was supposed to be 14-16 miles but still hacking and dead legs from a hard 5k)

Sunday:  spent all day walking around downtown Indy.

As I was told this week by the all wise and knowing, Mark Mikel (high school coach) who taped into his inner Bill Bowerman, “the hay is in the barn.” Despite not having a good week and not feeling 100%, the real work and training has already been done.  It is now time to taper and get to feeling 100%.  

  

Tina and I have already begun packing.  It’s one of those trips that you just don’t want to forget anything that we will need so we just pack it as we think about it.  So for me, that has included my athlete passport, space blankets from past marathons to use to sit on and keep warm in athletes village, extra pair of shoes to ensure I have a dry pair at the start, and toilet paper (you never know if the port a potties will run out before the race starts). Everything else I will pack this weekend. 

1 thought on “Boston Marathon Training (Week 14)

  1. David@soharunner

    Nice job on the 5k this past week! I might have to take a page out of your book and try to start packing early for Boston. I know that when I leave packing til the last minute I end up forgetting things and then have to buy them at the expo.

    Reply

Leave a comment