Boston Marathon Training (week 3)

Monday: 5×5:00 speed work with 1:30 active rest between each. 6.84 miles
Tuesday: easy run 5.41 miles
Wednesday: easy run 5 miles
Thursday: rest
Friday: 2×10:00 speed work with 2:00 active rest. 5.67 miles
Saturday: long run 15.70 miles
Sunday: rest

Total: 38.62

Temperatures got a little warmer this week and melted the snow/ice off the roads. Wind has also been less of a factor so it has been nice to run in shorts again. Looking back at where I was last year at this time getting ready for the Carmel Marathon, the pace on my long run is a lot faster right now and I am covering a greater distance in my speed work than last year. I am also using my heart rate monitor this time around which is holding me more accountable on my speed work.

VO2 Max: 57
Race Predictor: 2:50:45 (this would be about a 5 minute PR)

Leave a comment