The 2015 Boston Jacket

It’s the item most wanted by any marathon runner who is running their first Boston Marathon. It is a badge of honor to get to wear at any race or race expo. It says “I have ran with best athletes in the world.” It is, of course, the Boston Marathon Jacket. Runners who qualify for the Boston Marathon have three dates in mind when it comes to this race.
#1 the date registration opens and when you get your confirmation email
#2 the date of the race
#3 when will Adidas release the jacket?

A few weeks ago, the running community started to stir when the London Marathon Jacket was released. In the past, the London and Boston Jackets, both made by Adidas, have been identical other than the race logo. Part of me was hoping this would not be the case this year as I first saw the jacket. It is very purple. I know I run in my purple Sarah Strong singlet every race, but purple is really not my color.

2015/01/img_0087.jpg

Then it was released, the 2015 Boston Marathon Anthem jacket. It was in Deep, purple.

2015/01/img_0454.jpg
While, like I said, purple is not my color, let’s face it, this is my first and probably last Boston Marathon. I will be wearing this jacket everywhere (for $110, I had better wear it a lot). So I ordered the jacket early for a couple of reasons. 1. I wanted to ensure I got the size I wanted. 2. I saved 15% with a special code and got free shipping.

What I like most about this jacket: no screen printing. All logos and lettering is stitched.

2015/01/img_0456.jpg

2015/01/img_0458.jpg

2015/01/img_0457.jpg

While I stated purple is not my color, it is growing on me. At this time I can’t wear the jacket (not until I cross the finish line accept for the 1 mi ute that I had it on to ensure it fit to my liking), so all I can do is look at it. The jacket will not see the light of day until I leave for Boston and won’t be worn until after the marathon is over. Not superstition, just going back to my rule of not wearing the race shirt/gear until you have run the event. I have yet to earn the right to do so.

2015/01/img_0455.jpg

2015/01/img_0459.jpg

Lastly, if you are interested in supporting Tina (my wife) and I on this once in a lifetime trip to the 2015 Boston Marathon, go to my Go Fund Me site
Any support is greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “The 2015 Boston Jacket

  1. runsonsyrup

    Last year when I got home from Boston , the first words out of my husband’s mouth were, “That’s an ugly jacket.” I’m going to try and drag him with me this year so he can appreciate an even uglier one! 🙂 Good luck with training!

    Reply
  2. TechChick

    Hey, that purple is pretty nice!! 😉 Not my favorite when I saw it online, but after I got mine (20% for me!), I think it’s nice. Keep up the speedy training! Sorry, but way better than last year’s orange jacket.

    Reply

Leave a comment